My Little Shadow

This just kinda came to me as I drove in to work this morning.  Thought I would write it down and share it with others.  It’s probably a work in progress, so I may add more later.

My little Man, My little Shadow

My how quickly things can change

Everything is going well, nothing too strange

Then the phone rings, we need to go

You are my little man, my little shadow.

I spent many nights in the bottom of the bottle

Looking for you in there left me lonely and hollow

I knew that the bottle was no way to go

You were my little man, my little shadow.

There are so many things we didn’t get to do

So many plans I had laid out for you

When you left us, it was a heavy blow

You were my little man, my little shadow.

I wish your little sister could have really known you

We’ll tell her everything, all the funny things you used to do

Oh Mason, how we miss you so

You were my little man, my little shadow.

Sometimes I dream you are calling out to me

I can’t find you, no matter how hard I seek

I wish you could come down, just to say ‘hello’

You are my little man, my little shadow.

 –

My heart is broke, never to fully heal

I am scarred for life, the hurt is very real

I try to hide the pain, don’t let it show

But you were my little man, my little shadow.

6 thoughts on “My Little Shadow

  1. Kevin,

    Just wanted you to know that there will be alot of us “there with you” on the 12th. If its possible, through the pain, try to keep yourself aware. On Ben’s birthday, Oct 22, things happened that made us feel quite close to him (2′ of snow fell at Squaw so that his buddies could ski.. I KNOW that was Ben). While we had our share of pain in the days leading up to it, there are parts of that day that I remember warmly.

    Hang in there Brother

    Steve

    • Thanks Steve.

      I’m going spend the day Wednesday with family. I’ll take the day off and do the things Mason liked to do.

      It’s odd, though. If Mason was still here, I probably wouldn’t have taken the day off to be with him. Now that he is gone, I am.

Leave a Reply

