Life Sentence

I’m taking the day off from work today to go spend some time with him at the cemetery.  That in itself is kind of odd.  I probably wouldn’t have taken the day off if he was still alive.  So many things were taken for granted.  I always have tomorrow.  I always have next time.

Or so I thought.

I probably will always will have tomorrow.  I’ll probably live to be 120 years old, so that I can have all of my regrets revisit me each and every morning for as long as possible.  Delaying my reunion with Mason for as long as possible.  Stretching out my sentence.

That is what it is.  A sentence.  A Life Sentence.  This is my punishment for all the things I have done.

2 thoughts on “Life Sentence

  1. Kevin,

    Rage. I’ve been there. I find the anger is good for me at times because its the one thing I can do to fight back and feel like I have some amount of control. So to that degree it has a place cuz lord knows we need to fight back.

    But once the anger has subsided a bit try to take it easy on yourself man. No one deserved this…not even close.

  2. Kevin,
    You are a good person and a great parent. You did nothing wrong. I keep you and your family in my prayers. Take care,
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

